Restricted Locations

Modified on Wed, 10 Apr 2024 at 10:21 AM

Our core principle is centered on the notion that Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies should be available and open to all individuals, regardless of their geographical location. However, we recognize that in some nations, the use of our platform, Paxful, may be limited due to economic sanctions imposed by governing bodies.

List of Banned Countries, OFAC

As of March 2024

As a US company, we comply with Office of Foreign Assets Control ("OFAC") sanctions. The OFAC is a division of the US Department of the Treasury that administers and enforces economic and trade sanctions based on US foreign policy and national security goals against targeted foreign countries and regimes, terrorists, international narcotics traffickers, those engaged in activities related to the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, and other threats to the national security, foreign policy, or economy of the United States. As such, some are broad-based and oriented geographically (i.e., Cuba, Iran). Others are “targeted” and focus on specific individuals and entities.

OFAC banned countries

Users and traffic from the following countries are banned from Paxful:

  • Afghanistan
  • Belarus
  • Burundi
  • Central African Republic Sanctions
  • Cuba

  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • North Korea
  • Russia
  • Somalia

  • South Sudan-related Sanctions
  • Sudan and Darfur
  • Syria
  • Ukraine
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen

OFAC grey/high-risk countries

Users from these countries have to verify their ID before they can send out or sell cryptocurrency:

  • Albania 
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina 
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cameroon
  • Croatia (Hrvatska)
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Gibraltar
  • Haiti

  • Jamaica
  • Kosovo
  • Macedonia
  • Mali
  • Montenegro 
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nigeria
  • Philippines
  • Republic of Congo
  • Romania

  • Sengai
  • Serbia 
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Vietnam
  • Zimbabwe

Additionally, as we fully cooperate with all OFAC, Specially Designated Nationals (SDN), and Blocked Person lists, we block individuals who threaten international stabilization efforts as defined by OFAC in the regions of:

  • Balkans
  • The Democratic Republic of the Congo-Related
  • Western Balkans area and Belarus as part of Ukraine-/Russia-Related Sanctions
  • Venezuela-related sanctions
  • Zimbabwe-related sanctions

Restricted US States

Due to regulatory restrictions, Paxful is unable to offer services to individuals located in the following selected US states. Please be advised that if you are located in any of these areas, your Paxful account will be banned and you will not be able to access it from there:

  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois

  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • West Virginia

Unsupported Countries

We strive to make cryptocurrency accessible to everyone. However, our marketplace and products are currently unavailable in several countries:

  • Aland Islands
  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Antarctica 
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • Bhutan
  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba (Caribbean Netherlands)
  • Bouvet Island
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Cayman Islands
  • Christmas Island
  • Cocos (Keeling) Islands
  • Cook Islands
  • Cyprus

  • East Timor
  • Eswatini
  • Falkland Islands (Malvinas)
  • Faroe Islands
  • French Guiana
  • French Polynesia
  • French Southern Territories
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guam (US)
  • Heard Island and McDonald Islands
  • Holy See Vatican City State
  • Isle of Man
  • Jersey
  • Kiribati
  • Maldives
  • Martinique
  • Minor Outlying Islands (US)
  • Montenegro
  • Niue

  • Palau
  • Pitcairn
  • Puerto Rico (US)
  • Reunion
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Martin
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon
  • Seychelles
  • Sint Maarten
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Suriname
  • Tokelau
  • Tonga
  • Turkmenistan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Vanuatu
  • Virgin Islands (British)
  • Virgin Islands (US)
  • Wallis and Futuna

USDT and USDC Restrictions

Due to regulatory restrictions, we must prohibit access to Tether (USDT) and USD Coin (USDC) for Paxful users residing in Texas. This includes trading, withdrawing, depositing, and converting USDT/USDC.

We understand that this may cause some inconvenience, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. We are fully committed to complying with all relevant laws and regulations and are actively working towards further expansion. We appreciate your understanding and look forward to serving you in the future.

For any additional questions please contact our Support team.